GoPro Forums banner

1 - 1 of 1 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So basically I make driving videos. I've been using the GoPro Hero 7 Black for a long time and I've had no issues related to the ones that I'm facing with the GoPro Hero 9 Black.

When using the GoPro Hero 9 Black, I have come across two different problems.

#1: I have tried every stabilization setting under 5K 30fps; including linear + horizon leveling + hypersmooth; linear + horizon leveling + boost; linear + hypersmooth and linear + boost. I need to have some stabilization as when you drive on American roads, you're going to come across many bumps that would make footage look bad on a camera that doesn't have the stabilization features that the GoPro has.

My issue is that whenever I turn a corner, or go around a curve, the footage that the camera records "Shifts" along with the curve. I'm no expert, but it seems to me like the stabilization features are so focused on having "Horizon leveling" to where the camera struggles to record "Smooth footage" when going around a curve or turning a corner. The camera will try to stay locked into the horizon... even more so ironically with horizon leveling off... and therefore it makes the footage clunky when either turning the corner or going around a curve. That's the best way I can explain it.

#2: When filming on a bright and sunny day, the camera struggles to produce solid footage when shooting in certain directions. I don't know the correct terminology for this particular issue, so please forgive me. I have looked it up many times and I have not been able to find an answer or anyone discussing the issue. If it's a protune setting issue, I'm all ears on what a proper protune setting would be.