difference in "Flat" and "Native" ? - GoPro Forum, Classifieds and Support
 1Likes
  • 1 Post By Dr. Z

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread
post #1 of 5 Old 06-02-2016, 02:28 PM Thread Starter

(Thread Starter)
difference in "Flat" and "Native" ?

I am still learning about GoPro settings. But still have trouble understanding the "native" / "flat" parts, and the sharpness.

Why would anyone want to film with LOW sharpness?

And what really is the difference in the Flat for WB and
Native for color (instead of GoPro Color) ?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 5 Old 06-04-2016, 08:40 AM
Contributing Member

Hi Rob,

You can read more about the different settings here
https://gopro.com/support/articles/a...rols-explained

The main advantages with going with "Low" sharpness, "Flat" color and "Native" setting for WB is that it gives you more flexibility in post production where you can do the adjustments then.

Kareem

Cheers,
KreamCheaz
post #3 of 5 Old 06-04-2016, 04:30 PM
Contributing Member

As Kareem said, most people that edit in high end editing software will use sharpening and focus in the program and also do color grading in their editing software as well. Using Flat allows more flexibility in getting the colors to look the way you want them instead of having to accept presets.

KreamCheaz likes this.

Cheers,
Charlie

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

post #4 of 5 Old 06-05-2016, 02:35 PM Thread Starter

(Thread Starter)
Ok, so as far as GoPro Studio goes, Flat and native doesn't make much of a difference?

I have been running tests and can't really tell anything. The most obvious things are ISO 200-400-800 (darker to lighter) and WB 3500-5000-6500 ( blue- normal - yellow).
post #5 of 5 Old 06-06-2016, 09:01 AM
Super Moderator